THE WALWORTH BEAUTY

Descargar libro THE WALWORTH BEAUTY gratis online

Información del libro THE WALWORTH BEAUTY esta escrito en castellano, por la editorial BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING LTD. cuyo autor MICHELE ROBERTS , 2017 ha querido plasmar en este ejemplar de 400 paginas sobre Literatura todo su potencial. La identificación oficial del libro es 9781408883402 ISBN

  • Categoria Literatura
  • Autor MICHELE ROBERTS , 2017
  • Paginas 400
  • ISBN 9781408883402
  • Editorial BLOOMSBURY PUBLISHING LTD.

Descripción del libro THE WALWORTH BEAUTY y sinopsis completa

From Booker's listed author comes a sensual and evocative novel that explores the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 2011:

When Madeleine loses her job as a teacher, she decides to leave her apartment on the banks of the river in Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place.

But here, too, in this quiet Walworth impasse, she feels the invasion of the past: a change in the atmosphere, an invisible lifestream.

1851: and Joseph Benson has been hired by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes.

A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph has the task of persuading prostitutes to testify.

Wandering the streets of Southwark, he is tempted by the brothels' promises of pleasure, and as he struggles with his homework, he seeks answers at Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs. Dulcimer runs a boarding house.

As these intertwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London's past and present, the two eras rub against each other: a breath in Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head, the murmurs of ghosts resounding through time.

Presented in immediate and intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a disturbing tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering quest for human connection; this is Michele Roberts at her best.

Libros Relacionados